HSANZ Awards

HSANZ Albert Baike Memorial Medal

The Albert Baikie Memorial Medal is given to recognise the best oral presentation at the Annual Scientific Meeting, by a new investigator who is a financial member of the Society.

The winner receives a $5,000 prize and is presented with the Baikie Memorial Medal. This prestigious award is open to new investigators who were awarded their postgraduate qualification in Australia or overseas (MSc, FRACP, FRCPA or PhD, or overseas equivalent) within the past 5 years. Special consideration may be made by Council for those people who wish to apply for but who, for other reasons, completed their postgraduate qualification more than 5 years ago.


  1. Applicants must be financial and either full, trainee or associate members of HSANZ by the time of the Annual Scientific Meeting. You may apply for membership at the same time as you submit your application for this award. Membership forms are available at www.hsanz.org.au. Membership applications must be received by the HSANZ Secretariat by the end of August 2020.
  2. Previous winners of the award are ineligible.

All abstracts that meet the criteria above will be assessed by a sub-committee of the HSANZ and will be judged on the quality and originality of the work and presentation. The award is announced during the Meeting. Recipients of travel grants are eligible for the Albert Baikie Award.

Myeloma Foundation Awards

The Myeloma Foundation of Australia Awards are awarded to mid-early career researchers at the Annual Scientific Meeting in the following categories:

  1. clinical research in myeloma
  2. basic research in myeloma

Valued at $1500 each the award is to be used towards conference expenses or further training in Myeloma research.

Prizes are to be awarded to oral presenters at Blood, based on the highest ranked abstracts for myeloma research in each category.

  1. Early-mid career researchers are eligible.
  2. Recipients must be selected for an oral presentation at the Blood Meeting
  3. The highest ranking abstract (assessed by the HSANZ Council) in each category of basic and clinical myeloma research will be awarded
  4. Funds to be used towards conference and/or further training towards myeloma-related research
  5. Recipients to be available to be profiled in the Myeloma Australia newsletter
  6. Myeloma Australia reserves the right to make no award.

HSANZ Nursing Group Free Communications Prize

The HSANZ Nursing Group will award a prize for the best Oral presentation in a Free Communications session based on evaluation of the content and presentation. Judging will take place during the Meeting and the winner announced during the Meeting. 

HSANZ Nursing Group Poster Prize

The HSANZ Nursing Group will award a prize for the best Nurses poster based on evaluation of the content and artwork. Judging will take place during the Meeting and the winner announced during the Meeting.